‘Vulcano’

Exhibition:   01.12.16 – 04.04.2017

A line takes the form of a flower, a point becomes a planet and a peeled orange reveals ist insides. Pauline Bazignan uses a handful of simple, almost primitive elements to delve deep inside her subjects, revealing their inner beauties. 

In her solo exhibition Vulcano, Pauline Bazignan presents her most recent series of sculptures and paintings.

It is through the void, or rather, through subtraction that she reveals a world usually invisible to the naked eye. Fire and water serve her during her process in which painting turns to water in order to remove colour and density. In her sculptures, she uses the same extraction method, but this time with fire. By forming organic, hollow objects, she discloses a natural vacuum, highlighting the void with what remains.

The exhibition is also an opportunity to discover the collaboration between Pauline Bazignan and the perfumer Marie Le Febvre. Marie, whose laboratory is in the vicinity of Urban Scent(s) & Art Space, will create subtle scents that share an acute dialogue with the artist’s work.

Pauline Bazignan (Paris, France, 1974) graduated from the National School of Fine Arts in Paris, where she currently lives and works. Vulcano is her first solo exhibition in Germany.

Text by Sabine Glaubitz

paulinebazignan.com


 

 
  Photographer Jenna Dallwitz

Photographer Jenna Dallwitz

 
 

VULCANO

Pauline Bazignan

"Art is always something to see, to touch, perhaps to listen to . But art never smells, "explains the French artist. And so she wanted her work with the citrus fruits and the fire to be perceived as olfactory, for she is always confronted with smells when peeling and burning the fruit.

The fragrance "Vulcano", which bears the same name as the exhibition itself. While the citrus can be perceived as you enter, the more you reach the firings, the deeper you enter the room. The art on the walls is correspondingly different, namely, through the eyes and nose.

火山

展出时间:2016.12.1 – 2017.4.4

一条线能幻变为一朵花,一个点能演变成一个星球,一个去皮的橙子则能表现星球的内部。波琳·巴兹南(Pauline Bazignan)用一些简单的、甚至原始的元素去探究她作品主题深处的东西,展现其内在美。

波琳·巴兹南(Pauline Bazignan)在其“火山”个展上,展示了她最新的雕塑和油画作品系列。

通过虚无,更确切地说通过“做减法”来揭示我们经常肉眼看不见的世界。在创作过程中,火与水也能为其所用,绘画时用水来去掉颜色及深度,雕刻时用火进行提炼。她通过组合有机、空心物体,来揭秘一个自然真空,突显虚无与保留。

展览也是挖掘波琳·巴兹南与调香师玛莉·列斐伏尔合作的机会,玛莉的实验室在“城市气味和艺术空间”附近,她将创造出微妙的气味来分享与艺术家作品剧烈碰撞的火花。

波琳·巴兹南1974年毕业于法国巴黎国立艺术专科学校,目前她也在此生活工作,“火山”是她在德国的举办的首次个展。

文字: Sabine Glaubitz

paulinebazignan.com


 

 
  Photographer Jenna Dallwitz

Photographer Jenna Dallwitz

 
 

火山 VULCANO

波琳·巴兹南(Pauline Bazignan)

“艺术总是可以被看到,摸到,有时还可以被听到。但是,艺术从来没被闻到过,”这位法国艺术家说道。于是,她想到用柑橘类水果进行创作,燃烧它们以得到在嗅觉上的体验,所以她总是闻到水果剥皮时和燃烧时的味道。

这款香水“火山”,与展览同名。刚一进去,你就能体会到柑橘水果的气味,你越接近烧制,你就进入房间越深。墙上的艺术也随之不同,这可以通过你的眼睛和鼻子感知到。

www.paulinebazignan.com